Willi Elbe awarded “Truck of the Year” in 2019

Possibly the most highly-coveted title in the truck industry, the "Truck of the Year" Award, was won this year by the Turkish IAA newcomer Ford Trucks with its F-Max. With the 500 hp long-haul truck from the joint venture between Ford Trucks USA and Ford Otosan (Istanbul, Turkey) on board, Willi Elbe provides a complete steering system consisting of steering column, steering spindle top (ball screw with CV joint and end wall seal) and steering spindle bottom (steering spindle rigid with support bearing). It makes us especially proud that we were able to contribute to this outstanding success from the first order onwards. This success began in May 2014, during the initial visit to Ford Otosan in Turkey.

There, our development manager Ralf Sedlmeier and our key account manager Raffaele Brosi were able to convince both the technology and purchasing departments of our premium solutions during the course of intensive discussions and, despite the presence of well-known competitors, to attain the F-Max steering train order to Tamm or Kuklen. Production is already running, with a running time until 2027 and an average of 6,600 units per year. Our plant in Kuklen, Bulgaria, supplies the steering columns while our plant in Tamm supplies the steering spindles. The strength of our performance both then and now in this initial customer project can be seen from how satisfied Ford Otosan were: an additional order for steering spindles in the mid-range sector, with production starting in October 2019 and running until 2027 with 10,500 units per year, has already been placed. We would like to sincerely thank our Turkish customers along with all those Elbe employees involved in Germany and Bulgaria.

Ford Otosan Company, located in Gölcük near Istanbul, was founded in 1956. The company is owned by the Koc conglomerate (family company, 42% share) and Ford Motors USA (42% share). The remaining shares are publicly owned. The Koc Holding is a Turkish consortium listed on the stock exchange, with 85,000 employees worldwide and an annual turnover of 39.5 billion US dollars (in 2017, source: Wikipedia).

Willi Elbe Gelenkwellen GmbH & Co. KG

Hofäckerstraße 10
D-71732 Tamm

Tel: +49 (0) 71 41 / 20 50-0
Fax Administration: +49 (0) 71 41 / 20 50-56
Fax Engineering: +49 (0) 71 41 / 20 50-57

E-Mail: info@willielbe.de

WILLI ELBE GROUP – All Rights Reserved © 2020.
Top

Willi Elbe im ausgezeichneten „Truck of the Year“ 2019

Den wohl begehrtesten Titel der LKW-Branche, den „Truck of the Year“ Award, konnte in diesem Jahr der türkische IAA-Newcomer Ford Trucks mit seinem F-Max einheimsen. Mit an Bord des 500 PS starken Fernverkehrs-LKW aus dem Joint Venture zwischen Ford Trucks USA und Ford Otosan (Istanbul, Türkei) ist auch Willi Elbe mit dem kompletten Lenksystem, bestehend aus Lenksäule, Lenkspindel Oben (Kugelrollspindel mit CV-Gelenk und Stirnwandabdichtung) sowie Lenkspindel Unten (Lenkspindel starr mit Stützlager). Besonders stolz macht es uns, dass wir gleich beim allerersten Auftrag mit zu diesem überragenden Erfolg beitragen durften. Ein Erfolg, der im Mai 2014 mit einem ersten Besuch in der Türkei bei Ford Otosan begann.

Dort konnten unser Entwicklungsleiter Ralf Sedlmeier und unser Key Account Raffaele Brosi in intensiven Gesprächen sowohl Technik als auch Einkauf von unseren Premium-Lösungen überzeugen und trotz namhafter Mitbewerber den Auftrag für den Lenkstrang des F-Max nach Tamm bzw. Kuklen holen. Die Produktion läuft bereits, mit einer Laufzeit bis 2027 und durchschnittlich 6.600 Einheiten pro Jahr. Auslieferwerke sind für die Lenksäulen unser bulgarisches Werk Kuklen, für die Lenkspindeln unser Werk Tamm. Wie stark unsere Performance bei diesem Erstkundenprojekt war und ist, kann man der Zufriedenheit von Ford Otosan entnehmen: Ein weiterer Auftrag für Lenkspindeln im mittleren Segment mit Produktionsstart Oktober 2019 und einer Laufzeit bis 2027 mit 10.500 Einheiten pro Jahr wurde bereits platziert. Ein herzliches Dankeschön sagen wir unserem türkischen Kunden und jedem beteiligten Elbe-Mitarbeiter in Deutschland und Bulgarien.

Ford Otosan Company mit Sitz in Gölcük bei Istanbul wurde 1956 gegründet. Die Eigentümer sind der Mischkonzern Koc (Familienunternehmen, Anteil 42%) und Ford Motors USA (Anteil 42%). Der restliche Anteil ist in öffentlicher Hand. Die Koç Holding ist eine börsennotierte türkische Unternehmensgruppe mit weltweit 85.000 Mitarbeitern und einem Jahresumsatz von 39,5 Milliarden US-Dollar (Stand 2017, Quelle Wikipedia).

OBEN